Help with the Basics on Suffer EQ

I’m new to my DAW and Suffer EQ. I’m home recording my original tunes with a new DP9 and Focusrite Saphire. With the toys came a free download of SuferEQ boogie. Wonderful. :grinning: but I’ve no idea how to use an EQ for my voice and my band members. :open_mouth: (But we’re gonna have a lot of fun learning.) :laughing:

How do I begin? How do I choose the settings? Any advice or links would be great. I’m a recording novice, (but have played for years) so please start slow with the basics.:innocent:

Thanks to one and all

1 Like

Hi Bruce,
I guess @Nir might chime in with more information.

Basically,
An Equaliser as the name implies provide number of “elements” (bands / filters) to cut/boost an area within a frequency.

First a quick reminder:
EQ should compliment a good recording (sadly, it might also be used to fix a bad one but it is always suggest to make your recording great by mic position and good performance prior to EQ-ing).

So let’s say you’ve got a vocal. and you’d like it to be more “open”. it depends on the context but you might wanna cut some low/low-mid or boost some highs.

Let’s say you’ve got a bass. if you’d like it to be more “bass” you’d might wanna cut some highs or boost some lows.

Bass and vocal are great starting points (especially with SurferEQ & SurferEQ Boogie :slight_smile: )
I’d suggest reading online about EQ usage of course.

What makes SurferEQ (and SurferEQ Boogie different):
Most equalizers are assigning each band to a specific frequency.
SurferEQ allows you to benefit from pitch-detection and “move” the frequency harmonically with your audio content. Try playing with SURF mode on a vocal and bass.

Thanks for the follow up. Do you have any recommended links for EQ usage?

Hi Bruce,